Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Books at Lippo Village Junior Library

About the Caldecott Award

The Caldecott Medal was named for nineteenth-century British illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the American Library Association to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.  The first award was given in 1938.

Beside the Caldecott Medal, the committee also awards a varying number of citations to leading contenders, called Caldecott Honors or Caldecott Honor Books.

Caldecott Medal Winners (since 1990)

Caldecott Honor Books (since 2000)