A city through time : from ancient colony to vast metropolis by Noon, Steve
Call Number: S 307.76 NOO a
Publication Date: 2021
A City Through Time will transport you back to another age, as the award-winning Steve Noon brings the past to life in style. Panoramic scenes presented in a unique cutaway style are packed with colourful pictures showing everyday life in the city across the centuries. Clear descriptions surround each beautiful and jam-packed illustration to make sure the details aren't lost as you meet the characters who live and work there. Plus, each scene has a page devoted to key features, so you can get up close to a Roman bath-house, a medieval castle, or a modern skyscraper. A photographic section profiles great cities throughout history and a glossary tells you what you need to know about architecture, technology, work, and costumes throughout the ages. Steve Noon's A City Through Time is perfect for parents and children to look at together or for school projects. The more you look, the more you'll see.
Sports by [ ]
Call Number: S 796 MIN s
Publication Date: [ ]
Children's illustrated Encyclopedia is a well-illustrated and educational series of books covering various subjects which the curious child is always keen to explore and learn. Each book consists of age-appropriate information about particular topic. The books also contain interesting facts related to the topic. The series contains almost everything that would satisfy the quest for knowledge of a young learner.
How the brain works: understanding brain function, thought, and personality by Abrahams, Peter
Call Number: S 612.8 ABR h
Publication Date: 2023
An expert snd comprehensive medical reference work on the physiology of the brain, brain disorders, and psycholgical illnesses
Includes more than 75 topics, ranging from the structure of the brain to depression, from brain damage to the effects of caffeine on the brain to what happens in our heads when we laugh
Features more than 600 color photographs, medical imaging, and detailed graphics to help the reader quickly understand the workings of the human mind.
The New Children's Encyclopedia by DK; Smithsonian Institution (Contribution by)
Call Number: S 031 PUB n
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
The ultimate book of knowledge that every child needs! Ideal for little ones with lots of big questions about the world we live in. What is photosynthesis? How do the muscles in our bodies work? How do meteorites and asteroids form? Open the pages of this illustrated encyclopedia and discover the answers to all your questions. This fascinating kids encyclopedia has simple, easy-to-read text and lively, detailed illustrations, helping young readers build their knowledge on a wide range of topics. Explore giant galaxies, microscopic bacteria, human cells, ancient civilizations and more. Full of fun facts and stats, this reference book for children is designed to be both fascinating and fun to use! It covers a vast scope of information, from the Earth's plants and animals, to its people and discoveries. For easy navigation, this kids' encyclopedia is arranged thematically with more than 9,000 indexed entries and 2,500 colorful illustrations. Feed your child's curiosity and help them shape their ideas about the world around them. Perfect for homeschooling with age-appropriate knowledge on a range of topics complementary to their school curriculum. This will help build their general knowledge and inspire them to want to know more. A Must-Have Reference Book for Every Child's Library With almost 500,000 copies sold worldwide since 2009, this children's encyclopedia is a book of wonder that will absorb children of all ages. It has now been fully updated in line with the latest knowledge and research. It contains all the homework answers your kids will need, explained clearly and checked by experts. It's the perfect gift for children who aren't afraid to ask why. You'll learn everything you need to know about topics like: * Space * Earth * The environment and ecology * Living world More from DK Books: Expand your knowledge and explore more books from this series that cover your child's favorite subjects. Go on an intergalactic adventure in Space: A VIsual Encyclopedia, discover our blue planet like never before in Ocean: A Visual Encyclopedia, and take a tour of the human body in Human Body: A Visual Encyclopedia.
Eat Right 4 Your Type by Peter J. D'Adamo; Catherine Whitney
Call Number: S 613 ADA e
Publication Date: 1998-04-02
The individualised diet solution to staying healthy, living longer and achieving your ideal weight. Have diets you've tried in the past failed or even been counter-productive? Are you sure your diet is right for your blood type? This breakthrough programme is the only diet book to reveal the hidden key to successful dieting. Your blood type reflects your internal chemistry and actually determines the way you absorb nutrients. The foods you absorb well and how your body handles stress differ with each blood type and plays a key part in losing weight, avoiding disease and promoting fitness and longevity. Based on that knowledge, Eat Right 4 Your Type provides a set of blood type-specific diets to help you learn how to combine the foods that are right for you, to ensure physical and mental well-being, whilst helping guarantee weight loss.
Our Wonderful World by Ben Handicott; Sol Linero (Illustrator)
Call Number: S 912 RYA o
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
50 Maps of the World is an essential addition to the bookshelf of any travel-lover, map-maestro or geography genius. Spanning the world from Spain to Singapore, Colombia to Canada, Turkey to Tanzania, discover all you need to know about some of the most awesome places on Earth. Geography, history and culture spill from the pages in this luxuriously illustrated treasure-trove of travel knowledge. Each two-page spread is dedicated to a different country, providing both quick-fire facts and the chance to delve deeper into what makes every nation unique. Natural wonders, bustling metropolises, storied pasts and cultural icons are all presented in expert detail from experienced explorers Ben Handicott and Kalya Ryan, alongside Sol Linero's eye-popping artwork. Meet our earliest ancestors in Ethiopia, marvel at Machu Picchu in Peru and visit the floating villages of Cambodia in this colorful guide to 50 fascinating countries. Each spread includes dozens of spotlighted locations, a timeline of the nation's history and introductions to the people who have helped shape it. With the expertise of Ben Handicott (Hello Atlas, Atlas of Adventures: Wonders of the World) and Kalya Ryan, alongside the stunning illustrations of Sol Linero (The 50 States, 50 Cities of the U.S.A.), experience the diversity of our world like never before. 50 Maps of the Worldreimagines what maps can be, providing not just a geographical fact-fest but a vivid insight into the history, culture and wildlife that shape our living world. It is the perfect gift for young globetrotters and armchair-travellers alike.
Build your own website for beginners by Laura Cowan
Call Number: S 006.7 COW b
Publication Date: 2020
Thinking, fast and slow by Daniel Kahneman
Call Number: S 153.4 KAH t
Publication Date: 2012
Psychologist Daniel Kahneman reveals the truth about our intuitions and rationality to teach us how to better our lives. He explores the fascinating flaws and marvels of human behavior and reveals to us the common errors in people's beliefs.
How to start your own business: and make it work by Cheryl Rickman (editor)
Call Number: S 658.11 RIC h
Publication Date: 2021
Discover everything you need to know to turn your big idea into a thriving business with this uniquely visual guide. Combining clear, jargon-free language and bold, explanatory illustrations, How to Start Your Own Business shows you how to develop your ideas into a profitable venture, taking you step by step through everything from business plans to branding. Packed with practical, authoritative advice and graphics that demystify complex topics, such as securing investors, establishing an online presence, and recruiting and managing staff, this book gives you all the tools you need to understand how a modern start-up works, and create your own.Much more than a standard business-management or self-help book, How to Start Your Own Business shows you what other titles only tell you, combining solid reference with no-nonsense advice. It is the perfect primer for anyone with entrepreneurial aspirations, and essential reading for those who simply want to learn more about the world of business and management.
Upheaval: turning points for nations in crisis. by Jared Diamond
Call Number: S 306 JAR u
Publication Date: 2019
A brilliant new theory of how and why some nations recover from trauma and others don't, by the author of the landmark best sellers Guns, Germs, and Steel and Collapse.Â \n\nIn his earlier best sellers Guns, Germs and Steel and Collapse, Jared Diamond transformed our understanding of what makes civilizations rise and fall. Now, in the final audiobook in this monumental trilogy, he reveals how successful nations recover from crisis through selective change - a coping mechanism more commonly associated with personal trauma.Â \n\nIn a dazzling comparative study, Diamond shows us how seven countries have survived defining upheavals in the recent past - from US Commodore Perry's arrival in Japan to the Soviet invasion of Finland to Pinochet's regime in Chile - through a process of painful self-appraisal and adaptation, and he identifies patterns in the way that these distinct nations recovered from calamity. Looking ahead to the future, he investigates whether the US and the world are squandering their natural advantages on a path toward political conflict and decline. Or can we still learn from the lessons of the past?Â \n\nAdding a psychological dimension to the awe-inspiring grasp of history, geography, economics, and anthropology that marks all Diamond's work, Upheaval reveals how both nations and individuals can become more resilient. The result is an audiobook that is epic, urgent, and groundbreaking.
12 Rules for life: an antidote to chaos by Jordan B Peterson
Call Number: S 170.44 PET 1
Publication Date: 2019
Gripping, thought-provoking and deeply rewarding, 12 Rules for Life offers an antidote to the chaos in our lives: eternal truths applied to our modern problems. Jordan Peterson's work as a clinical psychologist has reshaped the modern understanding of personality, and now he has become one of the world's most popular public thinkers, with his lectures on topics ranging from the Bible to romantic relationships drawing tens of millions of viewers. In an era of polarizing politics, echo chambers and trigger warnings, his startling message about the value of personal responsibility and the dangers of ideology has resonated around the world. In this book, he combines ancient wisdom with decades of experience to provide twelve profound and challenging principles for how to live a meaningful life, from setting your house in order before criticising others to comparing yourself to who you were yesterday, not someone else today.
Leaders eat last: Why some teams pull together and others don't by Simon Sinek
Call Number: S 658.4 SIN l
Publication Date: 2017
Organizations that create environments in which trust and cooperation thrive vastly out perform their competition. But 'truly human' cultures don't just happen; they are intentionally created by great leaders. Leaders who, in hard times, would sooner sacrifice their numbers to protect their people, rather than sacrifice people to protect their numbers, are rewarded with deeply loyal teams that consistently contribute their best efforts.
The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by William Kamkwamba; Bryan Mealer; Anna Hymas (Illustrator)
Call Number: S 621.453096897 KAM b
Publication Date: 2015-02-05
Now a Netflix film starring and directed by Chiwetel Ejiofor, this is a gripping memoir of survival and perseverance about the heroic young inventor who brought electricity to his Malawian village. When a terrible drought struck William Kamkwamba's tiny village in Malawi, his family lost all of the season's crops, leaving them with nothing to eat and nothing to sell. William began to explore science books in his village library, looking for a solution. There, he came up with the idea that would change his family's life forever- he could build a windmill. Made out of scrap metal and old bicycle parts, William's windmill brought electricity to his home and helped his family pump the water they needed to farm the land. Retold for a younger audience, this exciting memoir shows how, even in a desperate situation, one boy's brilliant idea can light up the world. Complete with photographs, illustrations, and an epilogue that will bring readers up to date on William's story, this is the perfect edition to read and share with the whole family.
The Complete Story of Sadako Sasaki by Masahiro Sasaki; Sue DiCicco
Call Number: S 362.19699419 DIC c
Publication Date: 2020-04-07
**Independent Publisher Book Award (IPPY) Winner** **Middle School Book of the Year-- Northern Lights Book Awards** **Skipping Stones Honor Award Winner** For the first time, middle readers can learn the complete story of the courageous girl whose life, which ended through the effects of war, inspired a worldwide call for peace. In this book, author Sue DiCicco and Sadako's older brother Masahiro tell her complete story in English for the first time--how Sadako's courage throughout her illness inspired family and friends, and how she became a symbol of all people, especially children, who suffer from the impact of war. Her life and her death carry a message: we must have a wholehearted desire for peace and be willing to work together to achieve it. Sadako Sasaki was two years old when the atomic bomb was dropped on her city of Hiroshima at the end of World War II. Ten years later, just as life was starting to feel almost normal again, this athletic and enthusiastic girl was fighting a war of a different kind. One of many children affected by the bomb, she had contracted leukemia. Patient and determined, Sadako set herself the task of folding 1000 paper cranes in the hope that her wish to be made well again would be granted. Illustrations and personal family photos give a glimpse into Sadako's life and the horrors of war. Proceeds from this book are shared equally between The Sadako Legacy NPO and The Peace Crane Project.
Elon Musk and the Quest for a Fantastic Future Young Readers' Edition by Ashlee Vance
Call Number: S 338.092 VAN e
Publication Date: 2017-01-24
"Highly recommended for high school and ambitious middle school readers." --School Library Journal "A valuable addition to STEM-themed collections." --VOYA An in-depth look into the extraordinary life of the world's most important entrepreneur, Elon Musk This fascinating and easily accessible paperback young readers' adaptation of Ashlee Vance's New York Times bestselling Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future features black-and-white photographs throughout and an epilogue. The version for adults has been praised as "riveting" (The Financial Times), "spirited" (The Wall Street Journal), and "masterful" (Vice). Now younger readers can read about this innovative leader who is revolutionizing three industries at once: space, automotive, and energy. There are few people in history who could match Elon Musk's relentless drive and vision. A modern combination of famous inventors and industrialists like Thomas Edison, Henry Ford, and Steve Jobs, Elon is the man behind companies such as SpaceX, Tesla Motors, SolarCity, and PayPal that are transforming the way we live. Written with exclusive access to Elon, his family, and his friends, this book traces Elon's journey from a kid in South Africa to a young man in the United States, his dramatic technical inventions, and his world-changing companies. Elon has sparked new levels of innovation in the world, and this book gives young readers a detailed but fast-paced look at his story. A Junior Library Guild Selection!
One Last Word by Nikki Grimes
Call Number: S 811.54 GRI o
Publication Date: 2020-08-04
"One Last Word is the work of a master poet." - Kwame Alexander, Newbery Medal-winning author of The Crossover From the New York Times bestselling and Coretta Scott King award-winning author Nikki Grimes comes an emotional, special new collection of poetry inspired by the Harlem Renaissance--paired with full-color, original art from today's most exciting African-American illustrators. Inspired by the writers of the Harlem Renaissance, bestselling author Nikki Grimes uses "The Golden Shovel" poetic method to create wholly original poems based on the works of master poets like Langston Hughes, Georgia Douglas Johnson, Jean Toomer, and others who enriched history during this era. Each poem is paired with one-of-a-kind art from today's most exciting African American illustrators--including Pat Cummings, Brian Pinkney, Sean Qualls, James Ransome, Javaka Steptoe, and many more--to create an emotional and thought-provoking book with timely themes for today's readers. A foreword, an introduction to the history of the Harlem Renaissance, author's note, poet biographies, and index makes this not only a book to cherish, but a wonderful resource and reference as well. A 2017 New York Public Library Best Kids Book of the Year A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2017, Middle Grade A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017, Nonfiction
The Plot to Kill Hitler by Patricia McCormick
Call Number: S 230.044092 MCC p
Publication Date: 2018-02-20
Perfect for fans of suspenseful nonfiction such as books by Steve Sheinkin, this is a page-turning narrative about Dietrich Bonhoeffer, a pastor and pacifist who became an unlikely hero during World War II and took part in a plot to kill Hitler. Written by two-time National Book Award finalist Patricia McCormick, author of Sold and Never Fall Down and coauthor of the young reader's edition of I Am Malala. It was April 5, 1943, and the Gestapo would arrive any minute. Dietrich Bonhoeffer had been expecting this day for a long time. He had put his papers in order--and left a few notes specifically for Hitler's men to see. Two SS agents climbed the stairs and told the boyish-looking Bonhoeffer to come with them. He calmly said good-bye to his parents, put his Bible under his arm, and left. Upstairs there was proof, in his own handwriting, that this quiet young minister was part of a conspiracy to kill Adolf Hitler. This compelling, brilliantly researched account includes the remarkable discovery that Bonhoeffer was one of the first people to provide evidence to the Allies that Jews were being deported to death camps. It takes readers from his privileged early childhood to the studies and travel that would introduce him to peace activists around the world--eventually putting this gentle, scholarly pacifist on a deadly course to assassinate one of the most ruthless dictators in history. The Plot to Kill Hitler provides fascinating insights into what makes someone stand up for what's right when no one else is standing with you. It is a question that every generation must answer again and again. With black-and-white photographs, fascinating sidebars, and thoroughly researched details, this book should be essential reading.
Reaching for the Moon by Katherine Johnson
Call Number: S 510.92 JOH r
Publication Date: 2020-05-05
"This rich volume is a national treasure." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Captivating, informative, and inspiring...Easy to follow and hard to put down." --School Library Journal (starred review) The inspiring autobiography of NASA mathematician Katherine Johnson, who helped launch Apollo 11. As a young girl, Katherine Johnson showed an exceptional aptitude for math. In school she quickly skipped ahead several grades and was soon studying complex equations with the support of a professor who saw great promise in her. But ability and opportunity did not always go hand in hand. As an African American and a girl growing up in an era of brutal racism and sexism, Katherine faced daily challenges. Still, she lived her life with her father's words in mind: "You are no better than anyone else, and nobody else is better than you." In the early 1950s, Katherine was thrilled to join the organization that would become NASA. She worked on many of NASA's biggest projects including the Apollo 11 mission that landed the first men on the moon. Katherine Johnson's story was made famous in the bestselling book and Oscar-nominated film Hidden Figures. Now in Reaching for the Moon she tells her own story for the first time, in a lively autobiography that will inspire young readers everywhere.
Soul Surfer by Bethany Hamilton; Sheryl Berk (As told to); Rick Bundschuh
Call Number: S 797.32092 HAM s
Publication Date: 2006-06-06
In this moving personal account of faith and fortitude, internationally ranked surfer Bethany Hamilton tells how she survived a shark attack that cost her arm--but not her spirit. They say Bethany Hamilton has saltwater in her veins. How else could one explain the passion that drives her to surf? How else could one explain that nothing--not even the loss of her arm--could come between her and the waves? That Halloween morning in Kauai, Hawaii, Bethany responded to the shark's stealth attack with the calm of a girl with God on her side. Pushing pain and panic aside, she began to paddle with one arm, focusing on a single thought: "Get to the beach...." And when the first thing Bethany wanted to know after surgery was "When can I surf again?" it became clear that her spirit and determination were part of a greater story--a tale of courage and faith that this soft-spoken girl would come to share with the world. Soul Surfer is a moving account of Bethany's life as a young surfer, her recovery after the attack, the adjustments she's made to her unique surfing style, her unprecedented bid for a top showing in the World Surfing Championships, and, most fundamentally, her belief in God. It is a story of girl power and spiritual grit that shows the body is no more essential to surfing--perhaps even less so--than the soul.
They Called Us Enemy by George Takei; Justin Eisinger; Steven Scott; Harmony Becker (Illustrator)
Call Number: S 940.531773089956 TAK t
Publication Date: 2019-07-16
New York Times Bestseller! A stunning graphic memoir recounting actor/author/activist George Takei's childhood imprisoned within American concentration camps during World War II. Experience the forces that shaped an American icon -- and America itself -- in this gripping tale of courage, country, loyalty, and love. George Takei has captured hearts and minds worldwide with his captivating stage presence and outspoken commitment to equal rights. But long before he braved new frontiers in Star Trek, he woke up as a four-year-old boy to find his own birth country at war with his father's -- and their entire family forced from their home into an uncertain future. In 1942, at the order of President Franklin D. Roosevelt, every person of Japanese descent on the west coast was rounded up and shipped to one of ten "relocation centers," hundreds or thousands of miles from home, where they would be held for years under armed guard. They Called Us Enemy is Takei's firsthand account of those years behind barbed wire, the joys and terrors of growing up under legalized racism, his mother's hard choices, his father's faith in democracy, and the way those experiences planted the seeds for his astonishing future. What does it mean to be American? Who gets to decide? When the world is against you, what can one person do? To answer these questions, George Takei joins co-writers Justin Eisinger & Steven Scott and artist Harmony Becker for the journey of a lifetime.
Unbroken (the Young Adult Adaptation) by Laura Hillenbrand
Call Number: S 940.547252092 HIL u
Publication Date: 2017-04-25
In this captivating and lavishly illustrated young adult edition of her award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller, Laura Hillenbrand tells the story of a former Olympian's courage, cunning, and fortitude following his plane crash in enemy territory. This adaptation of Unbroken introduces a new generation to one of history's most thrilling survival epics. On a May afternoon in 1943, an American military plane crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared. It was that of a young lieutenant, the plane's bombardier, who was struggling to a life raft and pulling himself aboard. So began one of the most extraordinary sagas of the Second World War. The lieutenant's name was Louis Zamperini. As a boy, he had been a clever delinquent, breaking into houses, brawling, and stealing. As a teenager, he had channeled his defiance into running, discovering a supreme talent that carried him to the Berlin Olympics. But when war came, the athlete became an airman, embarking on a journey that led to his doomed flight, a tiny raft, and a drift into the unknown. Ahead of Zamperini lay thousands of miles of open ocean, leaping sharks, a sinking raft, thirst and starvation, enemy aircraft, and, beyond, a trial even greater. Driven to the limits of endurance, Zamperini would respond to desperation with ingenuity, suffering with hope and humor, brutality with rebellion. His fate, whether triumph or tragedy, would hang on the fraying wire of his will. Featuring more than one hundred photographs plus an exclusive interview with Zamperini, this breathtaking odyssey--also captured on film by director Angelina Jolie--is a testament to the strength of the human spirit and the ability to endure against the unlikeliest of odds. Praise for Unbroken "This adaptation of Hillenbrand's adult bestseller is highly dramatic and exciting, as well as painful to read as it lays bare man's hellish inhumanity to man."--Booklist, STARRED "This captivating book emphasizes the importance of determination, the will to survive against impossible odds, and support from family and friends. A strong, well-written work."--SLJ "This fine adaptation ably brings an inspiring tale to young readers."--Kirkus