Skip to Main Content

Referencing: APA Style

Citing Images

Locate the following information about the image:

  • Image creator's name (artist, photographer, etc.)
  • Title of the image
  • Date the image (or work represented by the image) was created
  • Institution (gallery, museum) where the image is located / owned (if applicable)
  • Date of access (the date you accessed the online image)
  • Website and/or Database name
  • URL
  • Copyright date and holder or status

Information about Image

Creator: Hurgronje, Christiaan Snouck (1857-1936), photographer
Title: Pilger aus Palembang [Pilgrims from Palembang]
Date  1888-1889
Institution: The New York Public Library, Rare Book Collection
Website: New York Public Library Digital Collections
URL: http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47dc-47cb-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
Copyright: In the public domain

APA Format

CITING AN IMAGE IN THE TEXT OF YOUR PAPER

"As illustrated in Pilger aus Palembang (Hurgronje, 1888-1889), the clothing of the Sumatran pilgrims lacks the color and patterns expected."


INCORPORATING AN IMAGE IN THE TEXT OF YOUR PAPER

"The clothing of the Sumatran pilgrims (see Figure 1) lacks the color and patterns expected."

Caption for Figure

Structure:

Figure #.  Descriptive caption of image. From Image title, by Creator’s Name, Year of creation, Database/URL.  Copyright Date by Name of Copyright Holder. Reprinted with permission (if applicable).

Example:

Figure 1. Black and white photograph of four pilgrims from Palembang, South Sumatra, Indonesia. From Pilger aus Palembang [Pilgrims from Palembang] by C. S. Hurgronje, 1888-1889, New York Public Library Digital Collections, http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47dc-47cb-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99. In the Public Domain. 


REFERENCE LIST

Structure:

Creator's last name, initials. (Role of creator). (Year of creation). Title of image or description of image. [Type of work]. Retrieved from URL/database

Example:

Hurgronje, C. S. (Photographer). (1888-1889). Pilger aus Palembang [Pilgrims from Palembang]. [Digital image]. The New York Public Library Digital Collections. Retrieved from http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47dc-47cb-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99