Take a musical journey in time--from the dawn of the Church’s liturgical song through the Baroque’s great choral and instrumental works to representative pieces of the 20th century. This is the sacred tradition of Christmas music, explored here in a stunningly illustrated book and a magnificent CD. It covers vocal and instrumental pieces from a variety of national and historical periods and styles, all of which have earned a place in the canon of great musical masterpieces. Not only will musicians and non-musicians alike find this an easily accessible guide, but they’ll feast on a sumptuous gallery of thematically and historically corresponding full-color art (including a 14th century manuscript illumination and a nativity scene by Fra Angelico), and revel in some of the best recordings of the music ever made. There’s rich, interesting background on every work, from Latin hymns and liturgical chants to Bach’s cantatas to contemporary carols. The CD includes the Vienna Boys’ Choir performing "Anima Nostra”; Arcangelo Corelli’s "Christmas Concerto”; The Trappist Monks of the Abbey of Our Lady of Gethsemani singing Gregorian Chants; excerpts from Handel’s "Messiah”; and the beloved "Silent Night.” No other collection brings together all these elements in such an aesthetically pleasing and educational way.
Chicken soup for the soul Christmas treasury : holiday stories to warm the heart by Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen.
Call Number: 242.335 CAN c
Publication Date: 2001
Presents stories about the special traditions friends and families share during the Christmas season, including picking out the tree, watching the annual Christmas pageant, donating gifts, and sharing meals.
1.nbsp; With a new contemporary cover design, a new interior layout, and up-to-date stories, this book will have fresh appeal to everyone looking for a great Christmas and holiday read. 2.nbsp; Books represent a new thematic experience, even for readers of past books, as Chicken Soup has tightened the content, and books contain only relevant stories.nbsp; Out-of-date stories were eliminated. 3.nbsp; Each book contains 101 stories recompiled from dozens of past Chicken Soup titles. 4.nbsp; "Our 101 Best Stories" collection is an efficient way for new readers to obtain books covering Chicken Soup's most popular topics. 5.nbsp; Every books has a warm and moving foreward from Jack Canfield and Mark Victor Hansen explaining the company's rebirth and its return to 101 stories per book. 6.nbsp; Chicken Soup for the Soul earned the Guinness World Record for having the most books on the New York Times bestseller list at one time. 7.nbsp; Last year, USA Today named Chicken Soup for the Soul #5 on its list of 25 books that left a legacy over the past quarter century. Everyone loves Christmas and the holiday season.nbsp; We love reuniting scattered family members, watching the wonder in the eyes of a child, and seeing the joy on the face of a gift giver.nbsp; The rituals of the holiday season give a rhythm to the years and create a foundation fornbsp;our family lives.nbsp; We love the chance to gather with our communities at church, at school, and even at the mall, to share the special spirit of the season, brightening those long winter days. nbsp; The first Chicken Soup for the Soup book was published in 1993, and became a publishing industry sensation, ultimately selling eight million copies.nbsp; Since then, more than 150 Chicken Soup titles have been published, selling more than 100 million copies. nbsp; Chicken Soup for the Soul has won dozens of awards over the past 15 years, and its founders, Jack Canfield and Mark Victor Hansen have become celebrity motivational speakers and authors.nbsp;
A Classical Christmas by Phillip Keveren (Editor)
Call Number: 781.723 CLA
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
(Easy Piano Songbook). 20 beloved carols expertly arranged by Phillip Keveren in the spirit of the classical masters. Includes: Angels We Have Heard on High * Away in a Manger * Bring a Torch, Jeannette, Isabella * Come, Thou Long Expected Jesus * Coventry Carol * God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen * Joy to the World * Lo, How a Rose E'er Blooming * O Holy Night * Still, Still, Still * We Three Kings of Orient Are * and more.
Everyone appreciates a touch of individuality at Christmas and the joy of a personal gift that they can treasure. A mixture of traditional and innovative ideas to add fun and flair to your preparations for the festive season.
The Shepherds were excited when they heard the news about the new born baby. Following the star, they made their way to Bethlehem, to find Jesus, the Saviour of the world. You can read about the birth of Jesus in the Bible in Luke chapters 1-2.
Christmas is the common thread running through these stories - from the events of the first Christmas to different aspects of the festival as it is celebrated today. Each story features a different animal - some biblical, others contemporary - narrating their Christmas story. These range from the light-hearted to the reflective, showing that Christmas is more than a historical event and giving the reader new insights into the significance of the Christmas story. Featured animals include a dormouse, sheep, cat, raven, donkey, koala, worm and dog.
MacKinnon's colorful photos bring the story of Christ's birth to life. Simply narrated and strikingly illustrated with vibrant, natural-looking photos, Away in a Manger includes practical ideas--such as costume patterns, backdrop suggestions and a prop list--for staging a nativity play.
(Easy Piano Play-Along). Each book in this series comes with a CD of complete professional performances, and includes matching custom arrangements in Easy Piano format. With these books you can: Listen to complete professional performances of each of the songs; Play the Easy Piano arrangements along with the performances; Sing along with the full performances; Play the Easy Piano arrangements as solos, without the disk. This pack features 10 contemporary Christmas favorites, including: Blue Christmas * Frosty the Snow Man * Here Comes Santa Claus (Right down Santa Claus Lane) * A Holly Jolly Christmas * (There's No Place Like) Home for the Holidays * I'll Be Home for Christmas * Merry Christmas, Darling * Mistletoe and Holly * Silver Bells * Wonderful Christmastime.
With illustrations by Edward Landseer, Daniel Maclise, Clarkson Stanfield, Frank Stone, Richard Doyle, John Leech and John Tenniel, and with a new Introduction by Cedric Watts, Research Professor of English, University of Sussex. In these five long stories, written specifically for Christmas, Dickens combines his concern for social ills with the myths and memories of childhood and traditional seasonal lore. A Christmas Carol, the first of the selection, has become a touchstone of English festive fiction and an enduring favourite internationally. Repeatedly adapted, parodied, staged and filmed, this richly influential tale is powerfully vivid and moving. The other stories, The Chimes, The Cricket on the Hearth, The Battle of Lifeand The Haunted Man, blend whimsy, sentiment, comedy, satire, the didactic and the fantastic, developing resourcefully the theme of individual and social regeneration.
With Christmas in His Heart by Gail Gaymer Martin
Call Number: F MAR w
Publication Date: 2006-10-24
Caring for her grandmother was a labor of love, but busy executive Christine Powers worried about the paper piling up in her office. And no sooner had she arrived on Mackinac Island during the frantic holiday season than her haughty attitude was challenged by Will Lambert, her grandmother's enigmatic boarder. His laid-back style grew on her, as did his steadfast faith in this season of joy and wonder. But an ultimatum to return to work or lose her job forced Christine to decide between her heart and her career.