Teacher Resources

Fitness education is often overlooked for various reasons: no equipment, no weight room, large class size, or lack of professional development. Designing and Teaching Fitness Education Courses provides real solutions for all these issues. This book offers secondary-level physical educators innovative ideas, practical answers, and guidance in implementing fitness education programming that will meet the needs of all students. Designing and Teaching Fitness Education Courses is packed with highly useful tools and resources: 211 instructional photos showing exercises and stretches that require no equipment and are easily adapted for varying abilities 18 pacing guides that form a week-by-week blueprint for implementing a semester-long fitness education course A robust online resource with all 18 pacing guides, as well as a blank template for developing your own; 139 video demonstrations of all the book's exercises and stretches; PowerPoint presentations to show in PE classes, including video demonstrations of the book's exercises and stretches; and teacher aids and student handouts, including assignments, assessments, posters, and a 12-week personal fitness plan Teachers can use the pacing guides to develop a semester-long fitness education course that can be implemented in either a traditional or block schedule. These guides offer objectives, class discussion topics, activities, assessments, and teaching strategies for each week of an 18-week semester. All topics in the guides are aligned with SHAPE America's National Standards and Grade-Level Outcomes for K-12 Physical Education. The authors guide teachers in addressing the following priorities within a fitness education course: social and emotional learning; behavior modification principles and adherence to fitness activities; social cognitive theory; classroom management; student safety; equity, diversity, and inclusion; and social justice. Designing and Teaching Fitness Education Courses also includes a detailed chapter on nutrition education written by internationally recognized sport nutritionist Lisa Dorfman, who provides teachers a wealth of information to integrate into fitness courses. Teachers will learn how to integrate a quality fitness education curriculum into any setting (rural, urban, or suburban) and any learning model (remote, hybrid, or in-person learning). Designing and Teaching Fitness Education Courses is organized into three sections: Part I presents both theoretical and practical knowledge of fitness education; its importance in a standards-based curriculum; pedagogical and content knowledge considerations; nutrition, wellness, and consumer issues; and the general components of fitness education. Part II focuses on various components of fitness education: flexibility, strength, and cardiorespiratory fitness. This part includes stretching and muscular strength and endurance workouts, illustrated with photos in the book and videos in the online resource. Part III guides readers in enabling students to participate in community fitness and activity events to support the development of lifelong fitness habits. Through Designing and Teaching Fitness Education Courses, teachers will be able to provide appropriate fitness activities that will lead to the elevated health and wellness of students and a greater appreciation for participating in lifelong activities. Note: A code for accessing HKPropel is included with all new print books.

Glencoe Health provides high-school students with age-appropriate content that aligns with the National Health Education Standards to help them become health-literate individuals. This research-based program focuses on the development and application of critical knowledge and skills during a crucial period in students' lives. Glencoe Health also emphasizes social and emotional skills while exploring up-to-date information and statistics on timely, relevant topics like: * COVID-19 Pandemic and other communicable diseases. * Latest MyPlate guidelines and nutrition label updates. * Alcohol and drugs (including opioid and heroin abuse) * Tobacco use, e-cigarettes, and vaping. * Cyberbullying, privacy, and online harassment. * STD/STIs (including HIV/AIDS). * Content related to Erin's Law (covering sexual abuse prevention). * An optional supplemental Human Sexuality module. Glencoe Health is accessible through print and digital channels, providing students and teachers the flexibility needed for all classroom styles- traditional, digital, and blended. In addition to the robust, traditional text, Glencoe Health also features numerous resources, including: * An accessible eBook (also available in Spanish) with built-in videos and activities to keep students engaged. * Lesson quizzes and activities that can be assigned and completed online or downloaded and printed. * A variety of teacher resources including a wraparound Teacher's Edition, which features comprehensive lesson plans and talking points that correlate to each page of the student text. * Pre-made assessments and create-your-own options that allow you to write your own questions or choose from dozens of pre-made questions for each lesson. All assessments can be assigned for students to complete online or to download and print.

The Essentials of Teaching Physical Education, Second Edition, offers what every future physical educator wants: the opportunity to hit the ground running on day one of their career, ready to deliver an effective program. In this new edition, future K-12 physical educators will find an accessible and effective approach to delivering vital content to students. The book takes a standards-based approach that is fully integrated with SHAPE America assessments, and its teaching for learning approach to curriculum development takes the guesswork out of translating the text's information into action. The Essentials of Teaching Physical Education is fully updated from its successful first edition and is augmented by new material. A new chapter on social-emotional learning and trauma-informed practices helps prepare readers in areas that are crucial in today's educational landscape. A new special element, Critical Perspective on Teaching and Learning, helps future and current teachers understand the importance of critical analysis and equity issues in all aspects of teaching and learning, including the learning context, the student body, the curriculum, and what and how content is taught. This new edition also features expanded instructor ancillaries. This comprehensive text covers what future teachers need to know about teaching K-12 physical education, offering a flexible, individualized approach to enhance student learning and acquisition of skills. As readers work their way through the text, they can acquire the following: A strong working knowledge of standards and standards-based learning outcomes that will help students achieve those outcomes The ability to plan for learning in both the short and long term The management and teaching skills they need to ensure an equitable environment that fosters student learning in the psychomotor, cognitive, and affective domains for all students The means to assess student learning and program effectiveness To assist students using the text, the second edition of The Essentials of Teaching Physical Education has related online learning activities delivered through HKPropel. This includes supplemental activities for each chapter and key figures from the text. With advice, tips, and success stories from top physical educators, The Essentials of Teaching Physical Education offers readers an inside look at how to motivate students while focusing on what teachers really need to know to succeed. It delivers practical and essential information and guidance on the most relevant topics for today's physical educators, including physical literacy, accountability, social justice, social-emotional learning, and trauma-informed practices. Everything a physical educator needs to know to succeed is found here, delivered in a straightforward and highly readable manner. Note: A code for accessing HKPropel is included with all new print books.

In this one-stop resource for middle and high school teachers, Kristina J. Doubet and Jessica A. Hockett explore how to use differentiated instruction to help students be more successful learners - regardless of background, native language, learning style, motivation, or school savvy. They explain how to: Create a healthy classroom community in which students' unique qualities and needs are as important as the ones they have in common. Translate curriculum into manageable and meaningful learning goals that are fit to be differentiated. Use pre-assessment and formative assessment to uncover students' learning needs and tailor tasks accordingly. Present students with avenues to take in, process, and produce knowledge that appeal to their varied interests and learning profiles. Navigate roadblocks to implementing differentiation. Each chapter provides a plethora of practical tools, templates, and strategies for a variety of subject areas developed by and for real teachers. Whether you're new to differentiated instruction or looking to expand your repertoire of DI strategies, Differentiation in Middle and High School will show you classroom-tested ways to better engage students and help them succeed every day.

Today's teachers are responsible for a greater variety of learners with a greater diversity of needs than ever before. When you add in the ever-changing dynamics of technology and current events, the complexity of both students' and teachers' lives grows exponentially. Far too few teachers, however, successfully teach the whole class with the individual student in mind. In Leading and Managing a Differentiated Classroom, Carol Ann Tomlinson and Marcia B. Imbeau tackle the issue of how to address student differences thoughtfully and proactively. The first half of the book focuses on what it means for a teacher to effectively lead a differentiated classroom. Readers will learn how to be more confident and effective leaders for and in student-focused and responsive classrooms. The second half of the book focuses on the mechanics of managing a differentiated classroom. A teacher who has the best intentions, a dynamic curriculum, and plans for differentiation cannot-and will not-move forward unless he or she is at ease with translating those ideas into classroom practice. In other words, teachers who are uncomfortable with flexible classroom management will not differentiate instruction, even if they understand it, accept the need for it, and can plan for it. Tomlinson and Imbeau argue that the inherent interdependence of leading and managing a differentiated classroom is at the very heart of 21st-century education. This essential guide to differentiation also includes a helpful teacher's toolkit of activities and teaching strategies that will help any teacher expand his or her capacity to make room for and work tirelessly on behalf of every student.

Hundreds of useful ideas for meeting the needs of each child The Differentiated Instruction Book of Lists is the definitive reference for DI for teachers in grades K-12. Ready for immediate use, it offers over 150 up-to-date lists for developing instructional materials, lesson planning, and assessment. Organized into 12 convenient sections, the book is full of practical examples, teaching ideas, and activities that can be used or adapted to meet students' diverse needs. Coverage includes curriculum design, lesson planning, instructional strategies, assessment, classroom management, strategies by subject area (from Language Arts to Math to Physical Education), new media, etc. Offers an easy-to-use guide that gives quick tips and methods to plan effectively for delivering truly differentiated lessons Filled with helpful DI lists, lesson plans, strategies, assessments, and more Jennifer Fox is the author of the bestselling book Your Child's Strengths The Differentiated Instruction Book of Lists is a hands-on guide for meeting the instructional needs of all students so that they can reach their full potential.

Today's classroom is more diverse, more inclusive, and more plugged into technology than ever before. And it's led by teachers under enormous pressure to help decidedly unstandardized students meet an expanding set of rigorous, standardized learning targets. In this updated second edition of her best-selling classic work, Carol Ann Tomlinson offers these teachers a powerful and practical way to meet a challenge that is both very modern and completely timeless: how to divide their time, resources, and efforts to effectively instruct so many students of various backgrounds, readiness and skill levels, and interests. With a perspective informed by advances in research and deepened by more than 15 years of implementation feedback in all types of schools, Tomlinson explains the theoretical basis of differentiated instruction, explores the variables of curriculum and learning environment, shares dozens of instructional strategies, and then goes inside elementary and secondary classrooms in nearly all subject areas to illustrate how real teachers are applying differentiation principles and practices to respond to the needs of all learners. This book's insightful guidance on what to differentiate, how to differentiate, and why lays the groundwork for bringing differentiated instruction into your own classroom or refining the work you already do to help each of your wonderfully unique learners move toward greater knowledge, more advanced skills, and expanded understanding. Today more than ever, The Differentiated Classroom is a must-have staple for every teacher's shelf and every school's professional development collection. Although much has changed in schools in recent years, the power of differentiated instruction remains the same-and the need for it has only increased. Book jacket.

Now in a revised and updated 6th edition, the groundbreaking, research-based approach to understanding and parenting children who frequently exhibit severe fits of temper and other challenging behaviors, from a distinguished clinician and pioneer in the field. What's an explosive child A child who responds to routine problems with extreme frustration--crying, screaming, swearing, kicking, hitting, biting, spitting, destroying property, and worse. A child whose frequent, severe outbursts leave his or her parents feeling frustrated, scared, worried, and desperate for help. Most of these parents have tried everything-reasoning, explaining, punishing, sticker charts, therapy, medication--but to no avail. They can't figure out why their child acts the way he or she does; they wonder why the strategies that work for other kids don't work for theirs; and they don't know what to do instead. Dr. Ross Greene, a distinguished clinician and pioneer in the treatment of kids with social, emotional, and behavioral challenges, has worked with thousands of explosive children, and he has good news: these kids aren't attention-seeking, manipulative, or unmotivated, and their parents aren't passive, permissive pushovers. Rather, explosive kids are lacking some crucial skills in the domains of flexibility/adaptability, frustration tolerance, and problem solving, and they require a different approach to parenting. Throughout this compassionate, insightful, and practical book, Dr. Greene provides a new conceptual framework for understanding their difficulties, based on research in the neurosciences. He explains why traditional parenting and treatment often don't work with these children, and he describes what to do instead. Instead of relying on rewarding and punishing, Dr. Greene's Collaborative Problem Solving model promotes working with explosive children to solve the problems that precipitate explosive episodes, and teaching these kids the skills they lack.

Bringing Orton-Gillingham and multisensory teaching into your classroom has never been easier. With this big book of easy-to-follow lesson plans, you can help your struggling students or those with dyslexia start reading today. Teach Reading with Orton-Gillingham offers research-based suggestions and instructions to make reading multisensory and engaging, as well as many ways to customise the methods for any size of classroom.

COMPLETELY REVISED AND UPDATED From one of the world's preeminent experts on reading and dyslexia, the most comprehensive, up-to-date, and practical book available on identifying, understanding, and overcoming reading problems--now revised to reflect the latest research and evidence-based approaches. Dyslexia is the most common learning disorder on the planet, affecting about one in five individuals, regardless of age or gender. Now a world-renowned expert gives us a substantially updated and augmented edition of her classic work: drawing on an additional fifteen years of cutting-edge research, offering new information on all aspects of dyslexia and reading problems, and providing the tools that parents, teachers, and all dyslexic individuals need. This new edition also offers:    * New material on the challenges faced by dyslexic individuals across all ages    * Rich information on ongoing advances in digital technology that have dramatically increased dyslexics' ability to help themselves    * New chapters on diagnosing dyslexia, choosing schools and colleges for dyslexic students, the co-implications of anxiety, ADHD, and dyslexia, and dyslexia in post-menopausal women    * Extensively updated information on helping both dyslexic children and adults become better readers, with a detailed home program to enhance reading    * Evidence-based universal screening for dyslexia as early as kindergarten and first grade - why and how     * New information on how to identify dyslexia in all age ranges    * Exercises to help children strengthen the brain areas that control reading    * Ways to raise a child's self-esteem and reveal her strengths    * Stories of successful men, women, and young adults who are dyslexic

For Christian teachers working with any age student and at any stage of their career. It is a practical resources-laced with examples-intended to stimulate teachers to reflect on their classroom practice. It highlights that a teacher's practice is formational, and that a teacher's calling to craft lessons, learning activities, assessments, and a classroom culture, significantly impacts the outcome of all teaching and learning. t builds on the previous resource Transformation by design: the big picture in highlighting the importance of not only intentionally designing curriculum for student transformation, but also in designing teaching and learning that has the end in mind: transformed student.

God Made All of Me by Justin and Lindsey Holcomb is an invaluable resource and beautifully illustrated story to help families talk about sensitive issues with two- to eight-year-old children. Because the private parts of our bodies are private, home is the ideal environment for a child to learn about his or her body and how it should be treated by others--without conveying a message of shame. Through carefully written language and relatable storytelling, God Made All of Me helps parents navigate discussion that can so easily be warped into confusion, embarrassment, and secrecy. Instead of instilling a message that their bodies are shameful--which can often prevent children from recognizing and reporting sexual abuse--Justin and Lindsey Holcomb equip parents to build a first line of defense against sexual abuse in the safety of their own homes. This helpful guide starts from the fundamental truth that God created everything and applies that truth--the doctrine of creation--to kids and their bodies. With the help of God Made All of Me, parents and caregivers can begin conversations with boys and girls about their bodies, helping kids understand the difference between the appropriate and inappropriate touch of others. This life-changing resource shows readers how to establish the foundation for a healthy bond with their children to meet increasing challenges of sexuality, which they will inevitably confront in childhood and adolescence. By teaching their children how to establish body and health boundaries, parents are imparting invaluable skills for their kids to express thoughts and feelings. God Made All of Me is the first children's book written by Rid of My Disgrace authors, Justin and Lindsey Holcomb. Parents of young children themselves, the Holcombs are profoundly aware of the dangers kids face, and they regularly counsel victims of sexual abuse. Explore God Made All of Me and find encouragement, clear guidance, and the tools necessary to facilitate open conversations about how your children can protect their bodies, an important step in keeping them as safe as possible.

Good Pictures Bad Pictures is a read-aloud story about a mom and dad who explain what pornography is, why it's dangerous, and how to reject it. Featuring easy-to-understand science and simple analogies, this internationally-acclaimed book engages young kids to porn-proof their own brains. With Good Pictures Bad Pictures, your child will never be caught off guard by disturbing videos or peer pressure! The 5-point CAN DO Plan"!teaches kids exactly what to do to protect their young minds when they see pornography. A tool for parents to begin an empowering conversation about the dangers of pornography and give their young kids a specific plan of action to use when they are exposed to it.

Young children have unprecedented access to the internet. They deserve to be armed early against its dangers! Good Pictures Bad Pictures Jr.: A Simple Plan to Protect Young Minds makes it easy for proactive parents to protect young children ages 3-6.Written by Kristen A. Jenson, best-selling author of Good Pictures Bad Pictures: Porn-Proofing Today's Young Kids, this book teaches young kids what bad pictures are and what to do if they see them.Using gentle, age-appropriate messages and beautiful, calming illustrations, Good Pictures Bad Pictures Jr empowers children with the Turn, Run & Tell plan, a simple 3-step strategy to keep kids safe online. Also included are five important safety rules that every kid growing up in the digital age should know. Good Pictures Bad Pictures Jr is a comfortable, effective way for parents to begin this sensitive conversation. Warning young children early about the dangers of pornography can protect them for a lifetime!

Are you picking up all your students' work is trying to tell you? In this book, assessment expert Susan M. Brookhart and instructional coach Alice Oakley walk teachers through a better and more illuminating way to approach student work across grade levels and content areas. You'll learn to view students' assignments not as a verdict on right or wrong but as a window into what students "got" and how they are thinking about it. The insight you'll gain will help you * Infer what students are thinking, * Provide effective feedback, * Decide on next instructional moves, and * Grow as a professional. Brookhart and Oakley then guide teachers through the next steps: clarify learning goals, increase the quality of classroom assessments, deepen your content and pedagogical knowledge, study student work with colleagues, and involve students in the formative learning cycle. The book's many authentic examples of student work and teacher insights, coaching tips, and reflection questions will help readers move from looking at student work for correctness to looking at student work as evidence of student thinking.

Educators know it's important to get students to engage in ""higher-order thinking."" But what does higher-order thinking actually look like? And how can K-12 classroom teachers assess it across the disciplines? Author, consultant, and former classroom teacher Susan M. Brookhart answers these questions and more in this straightforward, practical guide to assessment that can help teachers determine if students are actually displaying the kind of complex thinking that current content standards emphasize. Brookhart begins by laying out principles for assessment in general and for assessment of higher-order thinking in particular. She then defines and describes aspects of higher-order thinking according to the categories established in leading taxonomies, giving specific guidance on how to assess students in the following areas: Analysis, evaluation, and creation. Logic and reasoning. Judgment. Problem solving. Creativity and creative thinking. Examples drawn from the National Assessment of Educational Progress and from actual classroom teachers include multiple-choice items, constructed-response (essay) items, and performance assessment tasks. Readers will learn how to use formative assessment to improve student work and then use summative assessment for grading or scoring. Aimed at elementary, middle, and high school teachers in all subject areas, How to Assess Higher-Order Thinking Skills in Your Classroom provides essential background, sound advice, and thoughtful insight into an area of increasing importance for the success of students in the classroom-and in life.

Experienced discipler and church leader Jonathan Dodson addresses defective forms of discipleship and offers a gospel-centered alternative.

Educators at every level go through different stages of development over the course of their lives and need different kinds of supports and challenges to grow. Leading Adult Learning introduces a model of adult development that helps school and district leaders consciously cultivate teacher, principal, and superintendent capacities in the educational workplace. Eleanor Drago-Severson's developmental model of learning-oriented school leadership draws from multiple knowledge domains, including adult learning, developmental theory, leadership practice, and organizational collaboration. The book shows school leaders how to foster growth and learning for individuals with different needs and developmental orientations.

In Focus on Teaching, Knight turns to the vast and disruptive potential of video recording to reach new levels of excellence in schools. This book builds on Knight's prior bestsellers to show how every classroom can easily benefit from setting up a camera and hitting "record".

Collaborating for improved student outcomes makes sense. But beyond theory, do you know where to begin? How does a team gather, analyze, and then implement and evaluate learning objectives while engaging students and meeting school agendas? Without directed guidance, it's easier said than done.Aligned to current Learning Forward standards and based on the latest professional development research, Collaborative Inquiry for Educators deconstructs the collaborative inquiry process. This step-by-step guide gives facilitators tools to move teams toward purposeful, productive, and impactful collaborative work, including* A clear and concise four-stage model that provides a structure for facilitating successful collaborative inquiry* Real-world examples from collaborative teams that model components of each stage* Clear, direct, and practitioner-focused tone with an emphasis on action over theoryUnlock your team's ability to work together to improve instruction and increase student achievement today!

This is the most requested book for what works in the classroom for teacher and student success. It's an education staple for preparing effective teachers at all grade levels, pre-K through college, in all content areas. With the release of the 5th edition, it s now bigger, better, and bolder. The book walks a teacher, either novice or veteran, through structuring and organizing a classroom for success that can be applied at any time of the year.Now in a portrait format, the 5th edition includes a new, 54-minute DVD, You Have Changed My Life, with accomplished actor and singer William Martinez. Through story, song, and American Sign Language, he shares the transformational moment when a teacher realized his potential. His story affirms that teachers ARE the difference in the lives of their students.The 5th edition includes updated research, more examples and stories, and an updated Lesson Mastery unit introducing an easy-to-implement Learning Triangle. The book is used in thousands of school districts, in over 120 countries, in over 2,163 college classrooms, and has been translated into 9 languages.This is the best-selling book ever on classroom management and teaching for student achievement with over 4 million copies sold. It's practical, yet inspiring. But most important, it works!

Digital technologies loom large in the experience of today's students. However, parents, teachers, and school leaders have only started to take stock of the ramifications for teaching, learning, and faith.   Based on a three-year in-depth study of Christian schools, Digital Life Together walks educators, school leaders, and parents through some of the big ideas that are hidden in our technology habits, going beyond general arguments for or against digital devices to address the nuanced realities of Christian education in a twenty-first-century context.