Skip to Main Content

Award-winning Books at Lippo Village

About the Newbery Award

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the American Library Association to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.  The first award was given in 1922.

Beside the Newbery Medal, the committee also awards a varying number of citations to leading contenders, called Newbery Honors or Newbery Honor Books.

Newbery Medal Winners (since 1998)

Newbery Honor Books (since 1998)