Skip to Main Content

Award-winning Books at Lippo Village

About the Caldecott Award

The Caldecott Medal was named for nineteenth-century British illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the American Library Association to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.  The first award was given in 1938.

Beside the Caldecott Medal, the committee also awards a varying number of citations to leading contenders, called Caldecott Honors or Caldecott Honor Books.

Caldecott Medal Winners (since 1990)

Caldecott Honor Books (since 2000)