Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Referencing: Chicago Manual Style

information on how to cite sources used in your research according to the Chicago Manual of Style

Citing Biblical Resources

The Bible

Chicago Style does not require that you include the Bible in your bibliography. or works cited page. Simply include the reference and version in-text or in a footnote or endnote.

  • Note: 
         1. John 3:16, (New International Version).

Bible Commentary

  • Bibliography: 
    Moo, Douglas. Romans. The NIV Life Application Commentary. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2000.
     
  • Note: 
         2. Douglas Moo, Romans. The NIV Life Application Commentary (Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2000), 76.

Bible Dictionary/Encyclopedia

  • Bibliography: 
    Badcock, Gary D. "Calling/Vocation." In Dictionary for the Theological Interpretation of Scripture, edited by
         Kevin J. Vanhoozer, 94-96. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2005.
     
  • Note: 
         3. Gary D. Badcock, "Calling/Vocation," in Dictionary for the Theological Interpretation of Scripture,
    ed. Kevin J. Vanhoozer (Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2005), 95.

Bible Handbook

  • Bibliography: 
    Perrin, Nicholas. "Eternal Life." In The Baker Illustrated Bible Handbook, edited by J. Daniel Hays and
         J. Scott Duvall, 660. Grand Rapids: Baker Books , 2011.
     
  • Note: 
         4. Nicholas Perrin, "Eternal Life," in The Baker Illustrated Bible Handbook, eds. J. Daniel Hays and
    J. Scott Duvall (Grand Rapids: Baker Books, 2011), 660.

Bible Software

  • Bibliography: 
    Keener, Craig S. The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament. Westmont: InterVarsity Press,
         1993. In Accordance Bible Software, Bible Study Collection, ver. 11. Altamonte Springs: OakTree Software,
         2014.
     
  • Note: 
         5. Craig S. Keener, The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament (Westmont: InterVarsity
    Press, 1993), in  Accordance Bible Software, Bible Study Collection, ver. 11 (Altamonte Springs: OakTree
    Software, 2014).

 

[used with permission from Dordt College | John and Louise Hulst Library | Reference and User Services | e-mail: reference@dordt.edu]