MLA Handbook by 
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
What is MLA Style?
MLA Style is system for documenting sources in academic writing developed by the Modern Language Association. MLA style is used primarily in the humanities in English, literature, language, and arts.
The guidelines are published in the MLA Handbook, the latest edition -- the 9th -- was published in April 2021 and uses one universal citation format for all types of sources regardless of publication format.
Researchers need to locate the CORE ELEMENTS of their sources and then use them in the order listed below. Skip any elements that aren't relevant or that aren't included with the source.
Containers, a new MLA concept, are the elements that hold the source, or, WHERE the source is from. Containers could be books, journals, series, websites, blogs, databases, etc. There can be multiple containers in a single citation (an article from a database would list the journal title as one container and the database name as a second container; a TV series watched on Netflix would list the name of the series as the first container and Netflix as the second).
Some additional tips:
[image from "Works Cited: A Quick Guide." MLA Quick Style, 2021, https://style.mla.org/works-cited/works-cited-a-quick-guide/.]
Article from a periodical
Author's Last name, First name. "Article Title." Title of Periodical, volume, issue, publication date, page(s).
Nash, Phillip, and Dan Fennell. "Which is Better? Australia or New Zealand?" Down Under Today, vol. 2, no. 4, 2016, pp. 22-34.
In-text Citation Examples:
Nash and Fennell extensively explored the historical significance of the differences (34).
The historical differences "continued to ungird the enter structure of society" (Nash and Fennell 34).
Periodical/magazine article in a database
Author's Last name, First name. "Article Title." Title of Periodical, volume, issue, publication date, page(s). Name of database, DOI or URL.
Nash, Phillip, and Dan Fennell. "Which is Better: Australia or New Zealand?" Down Under Today, vol. 2, no. 4, 2016, pp. 22-34. Australian Online Internet Archives, http://www.aoia.com/articles/2321345.
Metcalfe, Rebecca. "Tips and Tricks for Teaching in the MYP." Pelita Harapan Journal, vol. 94, no. 5, 9 Nov. 2017, pp. 1283-84, https://doi.org/10.1126/PHJ.9452017.
Newspaper article
Author's Last name, First name. "Article Title." Title of Newspaper, edition, publication date, page(s).
McIntyre, Esther. "English is My Thing." Lippo Daily News, Metro ed., 21 Aug. 2016, p. A1.
Book
Author's Last name, First name. Title of Book. Other contributors, edition, publisher, publication year.
Comrie, Bruce. Ultimate Frisbee for the Masses. SPH Press, 2014.
Kurniawan, Fransisgo. Tips for Coaching Soccer. 2nd ed., SPH Press, 2017.
eBook
Author's Last name, First name. Title of eBook. Other contributors, edition, publisher, publication year. Name of online site, DOI or URL.
Fennell, Diane. 1001 History Assignments. Updated ed., SPH Press, 2016. Humanities E-library, http://hdl.handle.net/2016/sph.07599.011.2.
Entry from a Reference Book
Author's Last name, First name. "Title of Entry." Title of Book, other contributors, edition, publisher, publication year, page(s).
Radbone, Tracy, et al. "Safety on Stairs." Encyclopedia of School Safety, edited by Jason Myers, 3rd ed., Safety Publications International, 2016, pp. 245-246.
NOTE: For a source with three or more authors, list only the first author’s last name, and replace the additional names with et al.
Web page
Author's Last name, First name. "Web Page Title." Title of Website, other contributors, version, publisher, publication date, URL.
Wibowo, Robertus. "Soccer Coaching Tips." Soccer, Soccer, Soccer, 2016, http://www.soccersoccersoccer.com/tips/rw.html.
IF YOU CANNOT FIND AN AUTHOR, START WITH THE TITLE
"Soccer Coaching Tips." Soccer, Soccer, Soccer, 2016, http://www.soccersoccersoccer.com/tips/rw.html.
In-text Citation Example:
The region has "more readily accessible data regarding concussions and preventive measures" ("Soccer Coaching Tips").